The following is a summary of available Actions in remot3.it. In the Manage Devices view Devices must first be selected to apply any Actions. Use the checkbox to select Device(s) first, then apply an Action to the selected Devices. Actions may be applied to one or more Devices. The following Actions are available in remot3.it and described below:
- Execute Script
- Change Category
- Clear Status
- Add Sharing
- Remove Sharing
- Delete Device
Scripts may be used to perform specific actions on your devices if they support scripts. The Status columns can be updated to reflect the Script actions that were performed. See the video and link below for more information.
remot3.it lets you upload and execute shell scripts (bash) across one or multiple devices. Here's how to do it for Raspberry Pi: 1. download the sample Raspberry Pi bash script from github at this link
IMPORTANT: to download the sample script "pi_demo_script_remot3it.sh" from github you must right-click on the "Raw" button at github and select "Save link as" to download and save it to…
Category columns allow you to add additional descriptive information to the selected Devices. Once you add the details, the Category columns can be used to Sort and Group Devices. Example: Add "San Francisco" to selected Devices in Category A column. Now you can sort, group or filter devices by "San Francisco".
After running a Script, you may choose to Clear a Status Column as it is no longer required. Clear Status does not impact the Script that was previously executed. It simply clears the Column of the text.
Sharing allows any Device to be shared with another remot3.it user. In other words you can grant permission to another remot3.it User to access a device(s) in your account. This is useful for allowing teams of people (each with their own login credentials) to have access to a single device. The device owner has complete control of what other remot3.it accounts may connect. In order to share access to a device in your account, the other user must have a valid remot3.it user email address. Once the device is shared, the Share column icon will change indicating that Device is shared to another user. See the sample screenshot below.
PLEASE NOTE: There is a delay from the time you Share a device(s) to another user until the device appears in their Manage Devices view. Please be patient and check your email for confirmation that the request was received and is being executed by the remot3.it cloud. It might take as long as 5-10 minutes after receipt of email notification until the Share status is updated and shown in the remot3.it Manage Devices grid.
When a shared Device is no longer meant to be Shared, use this Action to remove the sharing privileges previously granted. PLEASE NOTE: There is a delay from the time you remove Sharing from a device(s) until the device disappears from the other User's Manage Devices view. Please be patient and check your email for confirmation that the Remove Sharing request was received and is being executed by the remot3.it cloud. It might take as long as 5-10 minutes after receipt of email notification until the Share status is updated and shown in the remot3.it Manage Devices grid.
Remove Device(s) from your device list. The Device must be offline to remove it from the Device list. Please note this Action does NOT remove any code (uninstall) from your device. In order to uninstall or remove all remot3.it software from your device use the Debian dpkg utility.